sunny vegan » food, photography, and fun

  • Subscribe

The Fast Metabolism Diet – book review

The Fast Metabolism Diet by Haylie Pomroy promises that you can eat more food and lose up to 20 pounds in 28 days.  Hailed as “the metabolism whisperer,” Haylie reminds us that food is not the enemy, it’s the rehab needed to rev-up your sluggish broken-down metabolism and turn your body into a fat-burning furnace. You will eat a lot on this plan and it is broken down into phases:

Phase I (Monday-Tuesday): Lots of carbs and fruits
Phase II (Wednesday-Thursday): Lots of proteins and veggies
Phase III (Friday-Sunday): All of the above, plus healthy fats and oils

Haylie is know as the go-to weight loss guru for stars like Cher, Jennifer Lopez and Robert Downey Jr. She also  looks healthy and talks about avoiding unnatural foods such as fat-free, artificial sweeteners and chemical additives which is also sound advice.

So what did I think about the book? I was turned off by the promises of eating more to lose more, it’s on the front of almost every diet book. Then I was surprised and delighted by her approach to holistic nutrition and was intrigued by the science of metabolism and digestion since I am currently studying those areas. The promise of a vegetarian option was exciting too because so many other books are things I would never consider eating, but the book really fell short in this area for me. The phase 1 breakfasts were ok as they were fruit smoothies. When you get to the phase 1 lunch recipes, you have Tuna, green apple and spinach salad, Open faced turkey sandwich, Sprouted grain turkey wrap, Chicken and barley soup, or Turkey Buffalo chili. Now which of those recipes is vegetarian?
That’s right, none of them unless you leave the meat out and you then have a salad.

This book may be helpful to non-veg-heads, but if you are vegan or vegetarian, you may be disappointed. Haylie recommends that vegetarians alter their diet to include eggs and fish (personally insulting to me that she even mentions this in the vegetarian section) but can also sub beans for the protein. After checking out the forums on the fast metabolism diet website, it seems that other veggies have the same concerns that I have.

Have you read the book? I would love to hear your opinions!

This is a sponsored post for SheSpeaks/FastMetabolismDiet.
All thoughts and opinions are my own.

June 2, 2013 - 6:38 am

D. Renée - I just got the book 2 days ago, and I’m sorely disappointed. Have you found any vegetarian alternatives?

June 5, 2013 - 5:00 pm

Amanda - Hi D, other than the few pages in the book which address substitutions, I haven’t found any other alternatives.
Good Luck if you try the diet!

June 17, 2013 - 4:21 pm

Anne S. - I don’t understand why vegetarians and vegans think this book doesn’t include options for them. I’m vegan, and I’m having no problem doing any of the phases, because there’s a section in “The Fast Metabolism Diet” that specifically says to substitute soy products such as organic tempeh, etc. for the meats/ non-vegan proteins. And soy products such as tofu and tempeh are a traditional meat substitue in recipes, anyway, because the texture works as a faux-meat. So rather than Turkey Buffalo chili, make Tempeh chili 🙂

In my circle of vegan friends, soy has a really bad rep because of its high phytoestrogen content. People logically make the assumption that an increase in phytoestrogens will adversely affect their homone levels. I’m a pre-veterinary student at a university, and I recently took a class on the uses of plants and herbs in the medical field. Multiple peer-reviewed, double-blind, randomized studies show that while soy has phytoestrogenic properties, it also has anti-phytoestrogic properties; this means that your body only uses the phytoestrogen in soy to boost your hormone levels IF YOU HAVE AN ESTROGEN DEFIENCY. It will not raise already normal estrogen levels. So while the fear of soy SEEMS logical, studies show that this fear is simply not justified.

The only concern people should have of soy, is that it is second only to corn in being the most genetically modified organism. So it is wise to buy organic/ non GMO’ed soy products, which is exactly what Haylie Pomroy suggests.

I hope this helps people utilize “the fast metabolism” dietary principles into their lives better because this program really is working for me! My weights finally stabilized because for the first time since I became raw vegan, my hunger level has stabilized!

Happy Fast Metabolism!

June 18, 2013 - 2:12 pm

deb - I felt as you did- I bought the book because there were “vegetarian options”, and also was disappointed with the “hey, you can eat fish for this little bit” kind of attitude. It just showed a lack of understanding that many of us don’t omit meat from our diet simply as a dietary choice.

June 18, 2013 - 2:21 pm

Amanda - Glad it’s working well for you Anne!
I think the frustration comes form the statement that it includes vegetarian information but we are left to fill in the recipes and substitutions on our own, rather than providing vegetarian and vegan recipes.
and hey, I love soy!

June 18, 2013 - 2:21 pm

Amanda - Glad it’s working well for you Anne!
I think the frustration comes form the statement that it includes vegetarian information but we are left to fill in the recipes and substitutions on our own, rather than providing vegetarian and vegan recipes.
and hey, I love soy!

June 18, 2013 - 2:29 pm

Amanda - That really bothered me too Deb. I have NEVER eaten fish in my life and suggesting that I do it now for her “holistic” plan totally irked me

June 18, 2013 - 7:13 pm

Anne S. - Haylie’s website has a vegetarian/vegan forum. This might help :), there are a few more recipes on it.

http://www.fastmetabolismdiet.com/forums/forum/fmd-for-vegetarians-and-vegans/

July 5, 2013 - 12:11 pm

Eileen - I have invented my own form of vegetarian diet that works for me morally, and I am very accustomed to substituting for my own recipes. I’m thankful for Haylie’s suggestions, but that’s all they are–for people who can’t take an idea and figure out how to use it by themselves. I’m much more thankful, however, that she didn’t preach to me about something that is not her expertise or lifestyle. The info in the book is amazing, scientific, and true. It’s not meant to be a vegetarian cookbook, or any kind of cookbook. It’s up to everyone who wants to try it, to work it into their lifestyle and diet preferences. I lost the weight promised. She gives us the tools. She didn’t have to include foods or recipes.

Your email is never published or shared. Required fields are marked *

*

*

f a c e b o o k
t w i t t e r